Lekeitio Final: Irujo and Barriola the Champions

Sunday 5th September, Lekeitio


Lekeitio Final

In a long overdue round-up, I can report that Juan Martinez de Irujo and Abel Barriola won the top prize in Lekeitio at the weekend, beating Oinatz Bengoetxea and Alexis Apraiz by 22 points to 14. Irujo and Barriola were the clear favourites, despite the excellent form of Bengoetxea, and justified their billing to take the tournament with ease. They profitted from the inconsistency of Apraiz, who played at a level below his recent best and committed seven errors. Barriola, in contrast, was metronomic, and picked up his third player of the tournament award of the summer. Irujo, with eleven winners, appears to be returning to his best after a spell of indifferent form.

Scoring sequence: 6-0/6-3/8-3/8-6/12-6/12-7/15-7/15-8/15-10/18-10/19-13/19-13 / 21-14/22-14

Total match time: 55 minutes

Actual playing time: 23 minutes

Winners/errors: Irujo 11/4, Bengoetxea 8/4, Barriola 1/0, Apraiz 0/7

Barriola on top again

Barriola on top again

Image from Deia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *