Tag Archives: Txapela de Oro

Stellar year for Aimar Olaizola nets fourth career Txapela de Oro

Aimar Olaizola’s lengthy list of successes in 2011 meant that he finished the year ranked number one, and wins the Txapela de Oro for the fourth time in his career after similar success in 2002, 2004 and 2005. The ranking is calculated by manista.com.

The top 20 in the ranking are as follows:

  1. Aimar Olaizola (Asegarce) 2635 points. 72,55% win rate (51 matches, 37 wins, 14 losses); 195 points advantage. Aimar won two of the three major championships, the Pairs and the Cuatro y Medio, and was a narrow runner up in the other, the Manomanista. He also won the Lekeitio and San Mateo tournaments.
  2. Xala (Aspe) 1840 points. 56,82% win rate (44 matches, 25 wins, 19 losses), 75 points advantage. Yves Salaberry crowned a year of great consistency with his first Manomanista crown. He was also runner-up in the Pairs.
  3. Martinez de Irujo (Aspe) 1690 points. 59,02% win rate (61 matches, 36 wins , 25 losses) 70 points advantage. Irujo was Cuatro y Medio runner-up and a Pairs semi finalist, and won the summer tournaments of Zarautz, San Fermin and San Sebastian. He was also San Fermin Cuatro y Medio runner-up.
  4. Begino (Asegarce) 1375 points. 49,06% win rate (53 matches, 26 wins, 27 losses), 17 points disadvantage. The highest ranked defender was Pairs champion and also won the tournaments of La Blanca and Bilbao.
  5. Bengoetxea VI (Asegarce) 1240 points. 49,09% win rate (55 matches, 27 wins, 28 losses), 8 points disadvantage. Bengoetxea was third in the Manomanista and won at La Blanca, Nitro Cuatro y Medio and San Fermin.
  6. Olaetxea
  7. Berasaluze VIII
  8. Laskurain
  9. Barriola
  10. Merino II
  11. Merino
  12. Titin III
  13. Beroiz
  14. Idoate
  15. Albisu
  16. Cecilio
  17. Retegi Bi
  18. Pascual
  19. Lemuno
  20. Apraiz

Debutante of the year was without a doubt Mendizabal III, who came 27th in the ranking despite not playing for the full year and won 67.8% of his matches, including the Promocion Cuatro y Medio final.

Titin III and Berasaluze VIII played the most matches in 2011, walking out onto the fronton 64 times. The honour of ending the year with the most wins is shared between Olaizola II and Cecilio, with 37.

For the full ranking list and for more statistics, look at Carlos Zuluaga’s piece at manista.com.

Aimar Olaizola, on top again

Aimar Olaizola, on top again

Image from Deia

Txapela de Oro 2008: Abel Barriola

Abel Barriola has been crowned the top pelotari of 2008. The defender from Leitza topped the Manista.com Rankings at the end of December and is therefore crowned Txapela de Oro for the past year. It is the first time he has achieved this honour. His victories included the Navarrese Cuatro y Medio crown and three summer tournaments (San Fermin, Lekeitio, San Mateo). In addition to this, he was the runner up in the Manomanista championship, reached the semi finals of the pairs championship (with Sebastian Gonzalez), was third in the Cuatro y Medio championship and runner up in the BBK Masters. He won 74% of his matches and was the most consistent competitor of the year.

The very young 40 year old Titin III was the runner up and, despite several periods of injury, Aimar Olaizola completed the podium.

Abel Barriola

Abel Barriola

The top 10

1. Abel Barriola (2375 points)
Winner, Navarrese Cuatro y Medion Championship
Runner up, Manomanista Championship
Semi finalist, Pairs Championship
Third, Cuatro y Medio Championship
Runner up, BBK Masters
Winner at San Fermin, Lekeitio and San Mateo

2. Augusto Ibanez Sacristan “Titin III” (1975 points)
Runner up, Pairs Championship
Semi finalist, Cuatro y Medio Championship
Winner in San Mateo, La Blanca and Zarautz

3. Aimar Olaizola “Olaizola II” (1915 points)
Winner, Pairs Championship
Winner, Cuatro y Medio Championship
Finalist at Pamplona and Logrono

4. Oinatz Bengoetxea “Bengoetxea VI” (1575 points)
Winner, Manonmanista Championship
Finalist in San Sebastian

5. Juan Martinez de Irujo (1430 points)
Runner up, Cuatro y Medio Championship
Winner, BBK Masters
Winner at La Blanca

6. Sebastian Gonzalez (1240 points)
Semi finalist, Manomanista Chamionship
Semi finalist, Pairs Championship
Semi finalist, BBK Masters

7. Yves Sallaberry “Xala” (1105 points)
Winner at San Fermin
Runner up, La Blanca and Zarautz

8. Oier Mendizabal “Mendizabal II” (1095 points)
Winner, Pairs Championship

9. Aritz Laskurain (995 points)
Runner up, Paris Championship
Winner, Zarautz

10. Julen Retegi “Retegi Bi” (920 points)
Winner, 2nd Tier Manomanista Championship
Winner, 2nd Tier Pairs Championship

Past winners

2007 Titin III
2006 Martinez de Irujo
2005 Olaizola II
2004 Olaizola II
2003 Titin III
2002 Olaizola II
2001 Ruben Beloki

Image from: http://www.elcorreodigital.com/vizcaya/prensa/fotos/200706/14/060VIZ14FOT2.jpg