A Basque in Boise

2013 Basque festival season has officially started

Basque-American flag pinAre you feeling homesick? Looking for summer fun? Lucky for you, Basque festival season has officially started in the USA.

Fresno’s is the first of many Basque Festivals which will take place across the States from May until the middle of September. Once again, there will be plenty of opportunities for everyone to enjoy great food, dancing, and probably some kalimotxo as well. If you are not familiar with the Basques, these events are the perfect setting to get a taste of our culture, our language, and our way of being in general. And if you happen to be an immigrant like me, Basque Festivals come pretty darn close to feeling at home.

I’m not sure which ones I’ll hit this summer, but I’ll be in Boise for sure during San Inazio in July. If you can make it too, I’d love to see you!

 

May

May 4 (Sat): Fresno, CA festival
May 18 (Sat): Los Banos, CA festival
May 25-26: Bakersfield, CA festival

 

June

June 1-2 (Sat/Sun): Santa Rosa (NV) festival
June 2 (Sun): San Francisco Basque Club festival
June 8-9: Winnemucca, NV festival
June 22: Merrit Basque Festival, Burnaby BC
June 23 (Sun): Txoko Ona (Homedale, ID)
Basque Club of Utah picnic

 

July

July 5-6-7: Elko, NV festival + N.A.B.O. Convention
July 6: Burnaby BC San Fermin Picnic
July 6: Portsmouth, RI San Fermin Dinner
July 7 (Sun): So. Cal Basque Club (Chino, CA) festival
July 21 (Sun): Gooding, ID festival
July 20 (Sat): Reno Basque festival
July 26-28: Boise Basques St. Ignatius Festival

 

August

Aug 10 (Sat): Gardnerville, NV festival + Kantari Eguna
Mountain Home, ID festival
Seattle Euskal Etxea picnic
Aug. 17 (Sat): Buffalo, WY festival
Battle Mountain, NV festival
Aug 18 (Sun): Rock Springs, WY festival
Aug 24-25 (Sat-Sun):San Francisco BCC annual Euskal Etxeko Jaialdia
Aug 25 (Sun): Rhode Island picnic

 

September

Sept 1 (Sun): Chino, CA Festival
Sept 8 (Sun): Marin-Sonoma, CA festival
September 20:  Ontario, OR San Miguel festival

 

October

Oct. 5 (Sat): Las Vegas, NV Festival
Oct. 13 (Sun): New York, NY Centennial Gala Dinner
Oct. 12 (Sat): Rocklin, CA festival
 

View 2013 Basque Summer Festivals in the U.S. in a larger map

Thanks for passing by: ↓



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.